Skip to content
This website uses cookies to help us understand the way visitors use our website. We can't identify you with them and we don't share the data with anyone else. If you click Reject we will set a single cookie to remember your preference. Find out more in our privacy policy.

Easy News: Euro 2020

This Easy News story is about Euro 2020, The UEFA European championships. It was translated by Rahman.

Easy News: Euro 2020

Easy Read home

    1. The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship (also known as Euro 2020) starts today, June 11 2021.

    2. It is a tournament that takes place every 4 years and includes 24 National football teams of European countries.

    3. It was supposed to be held last year in 11 different countries in Europe but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

    4. One year later, UEFA have decided to go ahead with the tournament as local and national lockdown restrictions have started to ease.

    5. The stadiums being used for the tournament will not be full of supporters because of social distancing rules. Many stadiums will only be half full, with some only a quarter full.

    6. The tournament will run for one month, until 11 July 2021, with a total of 51 matches being played within 31 days.

    7. Games will be played in 11 European cities: Rome (Italy), Baku (Azerbaijan), Saint Petersburg (Russia), Copenhagen (Denmark), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Bucharest (Romania), London (England), Glasgow (Scotland), Seville (Spain), Munich (Germany) and Budapest (Hungary)

    8. There are 6 groups of 4 teams where each team plays each other once. This is called the group stage. The teams that finish first and second in each group go to the next stage of the tournament.

    9. The teams that finish fourth in each group are knocked out of the tournament. Four of the teams which finish third in their groups also go to the next stage. These are the four teams with the most points of all the teams which finish third.

    10. The next stage is called the knockout stage. This is when the teams who are left play against each other in a single game. This means if you lose you leave the tournament.

    11. There are knockout games until there are just two teams left. The two teams who win all their knockout games go through to the final.

    12. The final will be held at Wembley Stadium in London on July 11. The number of fans in the stadium that day will depend on what social distancing and lockdown restrictions there are.

    13. The winner of the final will be crowned Champions of Europe. The last winners were Portugal in 2016.

    14. Sign up here to receive the latest issue of Easy News delivered direct to your inbox. If you would like to see previous issues of Easy News, contact us.